The International Society for Photogrammetry

ONCE EVERY FOUR years the International Society for Photogrammetry (ISP) meets for two full weeks of papers and exhibits at its Congress. In 1976 the XIII International Congress for Photogrammetry will convene in Helsinki, Finland from July 11 to July 23. The previous 12 Congresses were held as follows:

- 1 1910 Vienna
- 2 1926 Berlin
- 3 1930 Zurich
- 4 1934 Paris
- 5 1938 Rome
- 6 1948 The Hague
- 7 1952 Washington
- 8 1956 Stockholm
- 9 1960 London
- 10 1964 Lisbon
- 11 1968 Lausanne
- 12 1972 Ottawa

The purpose of a Congress is to report, review and discuss the new applications of photogrammetry that have occurred since the previous meeting. The Congress brings together photogrammetrists from nearly every country in the world—research workers, inventors, designers, instrument manufacturers, instrument users, educators, etc. Researchers have an opportunity to tell of their discoveries; and they also listen intently to find further improvements.

Acquaintances cultivated during congresses last a lifetime, and are perpetuated through correspondence and through occasional information international travel. Between congresses each of the seven technical Commissions often holds a symposium (as they did in September 1974) where a subject is treated in a depth and candor which may be difficult to accomplish during the hurry and bustle of a Congress.

The founding of ISP in 1907 is attributed to Prof. Dr. Dolezal of Austria. ISP is an association of national societies of photogrammetry—60 of them to date. The



Dr. Samuel G. Gamble, President of the International Society for Photogrammetry, inviting attendees at the opening of the 1976 ACSM-ASP Convention to attend the XIII International Congress for Photogrammetry.

American Society of Photogrammetry is one of the members of the International Society of Photogrammetry. The Society is governed according to a Constitution and Bylaws adopted in 1968. The Society is financed by levies on the member societies based on their memberships.

At the close of each Congress the delegates (one per member country) select the site of the next Congress and the new members of the Council. Also the seven commissions are redistributed among the member nations; each host nation appoints the commission president and secretary of its commission; they are responsible for the technical program in their field at the next Congress.

The proceedings of each Congress is published under the title *Archives* which is released during the following year. ISP has as its official organ the magazine *Photogrammetria* that is edited by Prof. A. van der Weele of ITC, Enschede, The Netherlands.

Awards of I.S.P.

HE INTERNATIONAL Society of Photogrammetry has two coveted awards which are issued during the quadrennial Congresses: The Brock Gold Medal Award, and The Otto von Gruber Award. At the 1972 Congress in Ottawa, Canada, the Brock medal was awarded to Uuno V. Helava of U.S.A., and the von Gruber Awards to Dr. Heinrich Ebner of West Germany and to Dr. Joachim Hohle of Switzerland. The awards will be presented next during the 1976 Congress in Helsinki, Finland. The two deeds of award were presented in full on pages 921-923 of the July 1975 issue of this Journal.

Members of the ISP Council

- President—Dr. S. G. Gamble, Dept. of Energy, Mines & Resources, 588 Booth St., Ottawa, Ont. K1A OE4, Canada.
- First Vice President—G. C. Tewinkel, 11612 Michale Court, Silver Spring, Md. 20904, U.S.A.
- Second Vice President—Prof. T. Maruyasu, Faculty of Engineering, University of Tokyo, Hongo 7-3-1 Bunkyo ku, Tokyo, Japan.
- Director of 1976 Congress—Prof. R. S. Halonen, Technical University of Helsinki, Otaniemi, Finland.
- Secretary General—Ing. J. Cruset, 7. Avenue de la Grange, F 94100 Saint-Maur, France.
- Treasurer-Prof. A. J. van der Weele, I.T.C., P.O. Box 6, Enschede, The Netherlands.

Officers of the Technical Commissions

- Commission I (Sweden) PRIMARY DATA ACQUISITION
 - President—Dr. E. P. Welander, Geographic Survey Office, Fack, S-162 10 Vallingby 1, Sweden.
 - Secretary— $Mr.\ Bengt\ Adolfsson$, National Road Administration, Fack, S-10220 Stockholm, Sweden.
 - U. S. Correspondent-J. Robert Quick, 2017 Oak Tree Road, Dayton, Ohio 45440.
- Commission II (Italy) Instrumentation for Data Reduction
 - President—Prof. G. Inghilleri, Istituto del Politecnico Duca Degli Abruzzi 24, Torino, Italy.
 - U. S. Correspondent—Chester E. Kowalczyk, 1504 Noyes Drive, Silver Spring, Md. 20910.
- Commission III (W. Germany) MATHEMATICAL ANALYSIS OF DATA
 - President—Prof. F. Ackermann, Institut für Photogrammetrie, Universität Stuttgart, Keplerstrasse 11, Pstfach 560, 7 Stuttgart 1, West Germany.
 - U. S. Correspondent—*Prof. James M. Anderson*, Dept of Civil Engineering, Univ. of California, Berkeley, Calif. 94720.
- Commission IV (France) Topographic and Cartographic Applications
 - President—Ing. G. Ducher, Institut Geographique National, 2 Avenue Pasteur, 94 Saint-Mande, France.
 - U. S. Correspondent—Carl J. Born, 9423 Old Courthouse Road, Vienna, Va. 22180.
- Commission V (U.S.A.) Non-Topographic Photogrammetry
 - President—Prof. H. M. Karara, Dept. of Civil Engineering, Univ. of Illinois, Urbana, Ill. 61801.
 - Secretary—Dr. Robert E. Herron, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas 77025.
 - U. S. Correspondent—Prof. Kam W. Wong, Dept. of Civil Engineering, Univ. of Illinois, Urbana, Ill. 61081.
- Commission VI (Poland) Economic, Professional and Educational Aspects of Photogrammetry
 - President—*Prof. Z. Sitek*, Faculty of Mining, Geodesy AGH, A1. Mickiewicza 30, 30-059 Krakow, Poland.
 - U. S. Correspondent—Prof. Paul R. Wolf, Civil Engineering Dept., Univ. of Wisconsin, Madison, Wis. 53706.
- Commission VII (Canada) Interpretation of Data
 - President—Dr. L. Sayn-Wittgenstein, Forest Management Institute, Dept. of the Environment, 396 Cooper St. Ottawa K1A OH3, Canada.
 - U.S. Correspondent—Dr. Robert B. McEwen, U.S. Geological Survey, Reston, Va. 22092.