PRESIDENTIAL CITATIONS FOR MERITORIOUS SERVICE

Purpose: Presidential Citations are presented by the President of the American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing to members in special recognition for meritorious and outstanding administrative contributions (in contrast to scientific achievement) during the presidential year.

Donor: American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing

Citation: Each recipient of a Presidential Citation for Meritorious Service has voluntarily contributed time and talents for the benefit of the Society during the past year. The Presidential Citation Certificate is a symbol of the Society's Gratitude.

1988 Recipients

Lance H. Bassage - for serving as Chair of the ASPRS Membership Committee while membership grew 3% in 1987.

Lola Britton - for invaluable service as ASPRS liaison to the 1987 ASPRS/ACSM/WFPLS Fall Convention in Reno, Nevada.

Loyola M. Caron - for serving as Editor of the GIMS Newsletter and increasing communications within the GIMS Network.

Roger R. "Sky" Chamard - for dedicated service as the Program Director for the successful 1987 ASPRS/ACSM/WFPLS Fall Convention in Reno, Nevada.

George T. Cline - for exceptional service as the Director of the 1988 ACSM/ASPRS Annual Convention at great personal sacrifice.

Alden P. Colvocoresses - for organizing and leading the joint ASPRS/ACSM Satellite Mapping and Remote Sensing Committee.

Russell G. Congalton - for guiding the greatest GIS meeting ever held, GIS '87, in San Francisco, California.

Alfred C. Crane - for organizing the successful sessions on airborne reconnaissance at the 1987 FALL ASPRS/ACSM/WFPLS Convention in Reno, Nevada.

Marvin J. Everett - for strong direction as Chairman of the 5th Annual Northwest Conference on Surveying and Mapping, a truly international event.

James H. Everitt - for organizing and conducting the 11th Biennial Workshop on Color Aerial Photography and Videography in the Plant Sciences.

Anthony B. Follett - for untiring service as Chairman of the Survey of the Profession Committee and for guiding the publication of the 2nd edition of the "Survey of the Profession."

Eve Graham - for constant, unselfish support of John Graham during his service to the Society.

Charles E. Henderson - for inspired design of the successful GIS '87 Program.

Deborah S. Johnson - for perserverance and hard work serving as Director of the International Conference and workshop on Analytical Instrumentation, the first ASPRS-sponsored ISPRS Commission meeting held.

Melvin Kruger - for revitalizing the Sustaining Members Council in 1987.

Maurice E. "Gene" Lafferty - for initiating the first Tripartite ASPRS/ACSM/WFPLS Fall Convention in Reno, Nevada.

Roberta E. Lenczowski - for tireless effort in planning and organizing the ASPRS Technical Program for the 1988 ACSM/ASPRS Annual Convention.

Donald L. Light - for guiding the Primary Data Acquisition Division programs during the past several years.

Patricia Caldwell Lindgren - for outstanding contributions as Director of the highly successful 1987 ASPRS/ACSM/WFPLS Fall Convention Reno, Nevada.

Robert B. McEwen - for tireless effort in raising the funds and serving as the first chair of the William Fischer Scholarship Committee 1984 - 1987.

Rex R. McHail - for wise counsel, inspired support and unquestioned friendship during my years as an ASPRS officer.

Morris L. McKenzie - for outstanding effort as the Chairman of ISPRS Working Group II/I.

Roy A. Mead - for pioneering the first effort in organizing and conducting the GIS Executive Seminar for ASPRS.

Dean C. Merchant - for dedication and persistance in guiding the writing and adoption of the ASPRS Spatial Accuracy Standards for Large-Scale Mapping.

James W. Merchant, Jr. - for inspired service as Guest Editor for the first GIS Special Issue of *PE&RS*.

Randle W. Olsen - for successfully completing 2 years as editor/writer of the popular "Mosaic" column in the PROFESSIONAL SURVEYOR.

Michael S. Renslow - for leading the Northern California Region in hosting the greatest GIS meeting ever held, GIS '87.

William J. Ripple - for dedicated service as Guest Editor of the first GIS Special issue of PE&RS.

Vincent V. Salomonson - for outstanding service as the first Associate Editor for Remote Sensing for *PE&RS*.

Chester C Slama - for outstanding service as the first Associate Editor for Photogrammetric Applications for PE&RS.

Alan R. Stevens - for leadership as the Chairman of the 1987 Nominating Committee.

Andrew Taylor - for leadership of the Puget Sound Region in hosting the 5th Annual Northwest Conference on Surveying and Mapping, a truly international meeting.

Randall W. Thomas - for serving as Program Chair for the greatest GIS meeting ever held, GIS '87.

Paul R. Wolf - for successfully leading the 12th National Surveying Teachers' Conference, the first cosponsored by ASPRS.

Chris Woloszyn - for untiring aid and assistance while I served as President of ASPRS.

Alberta Auringer Wood - for her outstanding cooperation and cheerfulness during our year as Presidents

Sherman S.C. Wu - for serving as Program Chair for the International Conference and Workshop on Analytical Instrumentation.



President John Graham with approximately half of the Meritorious Service recipients who contributed so much during his presidential year.



John Graham presiding at the 54th Annual Installation of Officers, Business and Awards Meeting.