The International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing

The INTERNATIONAL SOCIETY FOR PHOTOGRAMMETRY 📘 was founded in 1907 by Prof. Dr. Edward Dolezal of Austria to encourage cooperation and exchange of information between the various national societies of photogrammetry. This function is carried out primarily by the quadrennial Congress organized by one of the now 80 national Member Societies. Previous Congresses of the Society have been held as follows:

1	1910	Vienna, Austria
П	1926	Berlin, Germany
III	1930	Zurich, Switzerland
IV	1934	Paris, France
V	1938	Rome, Italy
VI	1948	The Hague, Netherland
VII	1952	Washington, DC
VIII	1956	Stockholm, Sweden
IX	1960	London, England
X	1964	Lisbon, Portugal
XI	1968	Lausanne, Switzerland
XII	1972	Ottawa, Canada
XIII	1976	Helsinki, Finland
XIV	1980	Hamburg, Germany
XV	1984	Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
XVI	1988	Kyoto, Japan
XVII	1992	Washington, DC

16th ISPRS, KYOTO, JAPAN

The 16th International Congress of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ISPRS) opening ceremonies began at 9:30 am at the Kyoto International Congress Hall (KICH) on 1 July 1988. More than one thousand participants from 71 countries attended.

Japanese traditional musical performances, KOTO (Japanese Harp) and SHAKUHACHI (Bamboo Flute) were played, and MOS-1 Satellite images from the Kumamoto Space Center of Tokai University were projected on the wide screen of the Main

The Congress Director, Professor Shunji Murai declared the opening of the Congress, and Professor Hideo Nakamura, the President of the Japan Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing gave the opening address.

Professor Gottfried Konecny, the President of ISPRS; Mr. Kazuhiko Ohtake, the Director General, Geographical Survey Institute, Japan; and Mr. Teiichi Aramaki, the Governor of Kyoto Prefecture addressed the participants of the Congress.

During the 3 July General Assemby, the US was elected host country for the 17th ISPRS Congress on 2-14 August 1992. Mr. Lawrence W. Fritz (G.E. Aerospace Business Group, PO Box 8048-10A26, Philadelphia, PA 19101) was appointed as the Congress Director and the Congress will be held at the Washington DC Convention Center.

During the 2 July General Assembly, Kenya, Malawi, Mongolia, the United Arab Emirates, and Qatar were admitted as Members, bringing the total membership of ISPRS to 80. Finally, the Ivory Coast was admitted as a New Member (Category 1).

Professor K. Torlegard, the Secretary General, proposed and the Congress elected Mr. Frederick J. Doyle, Ms. Aino Savolainen (Finland), and Professor Wang Zhizhuo (China) for Honorary Membership in ISPRS. Other awards presented at the Congress

Brock Gold Medal: Dr. Duane Brown Samuel G. Gamble Award: Dr. Oluwole Coker (Nigeria), Dr. B.A. Sikilo (Tanzania), and Dr. Anton Vander Weel

Schwidefsky Medal: Dr. Karl Rinner (Austria) and Dr. G. Carper Tewinkel; and Dr. Paul James Curran (United Kingdom).

The rules and regulations for the ISPRS Awards are given beginning on page 1037 of the July 1981 Yearbook issue. Members of ASPRS are encouraged to submit nominations for either or both awards to President, ISPRS.

The Secretariat announced that the History of Photogrammetry had been translated into Chinese, German, Japanese, and Spanish by the national societies.

Dr. Juha Talvitie (Finland), Professor Werner Lichtner (Federal Republic of Germany), Dr. Frederic J. Doyle, and Professor I. Nakagawa (Japan) presented their countries greetings. Finally, Dr. Duane Brown delivered the Keynote Address, "One Micron Barrier.'

The 7 July General Assembly elected Mr. Keith Atkinson (UK) for Treasurer and the following as Commission Presidents:

Commission I: Prof. Marcio Barbosa (Brazil) Commission II: Prof. Klaus Szangolies (GDR) Commission III: Prof. Li Deren (China) Commission IV: Mr. Takeshi Hirai (Japan) Prof. Armin Gruen (Switzerland) Commission V: Commission VI: Prof. John Badekas (Greece) Mr. Frank Hegyi (Canada) Commission VII:

Members of the ISPRS Council, 1988-1992

President

Professor Kennert Torlegard Dept. of Photogrammetry The Royal Institute of Technology S-100 44 Stockholm, Sweden

First Vice President

Professor Gottfried Konecny Institut fur Photogrammetrie Nienburger Str. 1 D-3000 Hannover, FR Germany

Second Vice President

Ivan S. Katzarsky Scientific and Technical Union of Geodesy 108, Rakovski Street Sofia, BG-1000, Bulgaria

Secretary General

Professor Shunji Murai Institute of Industrial Science University of Tokyo 7-22, Roppongi, Minatoku Tokyo, Japan

Treasurer

Keith Atkinson Dept. of Photogrammetry and Surveying University College London Gower Street London, WC1E 6BT, England

Congress Director

Lawrence W. Fritz G.E. Aerospace Business Group PO Box 8048-10A26 Philadelphia, PA 19101, USA