55th Annual Installation of Officers and Awards Meeting

President Alden P. Colvocoresses opened the 55th Installation of Officers and Awards Meeting on Wednesday, 5 April 1989 at 9:30 am. President Colvocoresses welcomed and extended a greeting to all, then presided over the ASPRS Awards ceremony described on pages 993-1012. The ceremony was followed by the President's Report (p. 1029). Executive Director French presented his report (p. 1030) and President Colvocoresses recognized the outgoing Officers and Directors. G. Clement Bounds presented the Tellers Report.

After President Colvocoresses recognized the new Directors, he installed President-Elect Marilyn O'Cuilinn, and Vice President Vincent V. Salomonson. As his last official act as President, he installed Roger M. Hoffer as the 55th President of ASPRS.

President Hoffer followed his Inaugural Address (p. 1031) by presenting Past President Colvocoresses his Birdseye Citation, Presidential Key, and other gifts for his service as President during 1988-1989. The meeting adjourned at 12:00 pm.

1989-1990 Officers



Left to right: William D. French, Executive Director; Marilyn O'Cuilinn, President-Elect; Roger M. Hoffer, President; Vincent V. Salomonson, Vice President; and Alden P. Colvocoresses, Past President.

Annual Report Teller Committee

The ASPRS Teller Committee met at Headquarters on 16 March 1989 to count the election ballots cast by the Membership. The committee was composed of the following members in-good-standing: Marshall S. Wright, Abraham Anson, L. Ray Smart, Philip Guss, Thomas Lauterborn, and G. Clement Bounds.

The election results, with 25% of the membership voting, were recorded as follows:

For Vice-President: Vincent V. Salomonson For Director, GIS Division: Russell G. Congalton For Assistant Director, GIS Division: Kass Green

The names of the successful candidates were entered as a matter of record at ASPRS Headquarters 16 March 1989.

- G. Clement Bounds, Chairman Teller Committee



G. Clement Bounds giving the Tellers Report

Annual Report International Geographic Information Foundation

The International Geographic Information Foundation (IGIF) continues to administer the awards listed below on behalf of the American Society of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing Awards Program.

The William A. Fisher Memorial Scholarship

The V Talbert Abrams Award

The Brock Gold Medal Award

The Robert E. Altenhofen Memorial Scholarship

The Ta Liang Memorial Award

The Analytical Surveys Photogrammetric Scholarship

The John I. Davidson President's Award for

Practical Papers

These principal Award Funds are on deposit in restricted investment accounts and generate sufficient interest to support the annual award with few exceptions. The exceptions continue to challenge the Foundation.

The Foundation is continuing its efforts to complete arrangements for the publication of two manuscripts now in the final editing

process. Lack of interest in a proposed Review Board has caused the Trustees to drop this project.

The immediate Past Presidents of ASPRS and ACSM continue to serve one-year terms as Trustees of the Foundation. The ACSM Board of Directors have agreed to join IGIF. The formalization of this agreement should be completed with the response of the Trustees to the last inquiry from the Executive Director of ACSM. In this response, ACSM has been asked to appoint two members to the IGIF Board in addition to the Past President's position.

The 1989 Auction was not as successful as the one in 1988. Our current experience indicates that additional planning will be

required for the 1990 event.



International Geographic Information Foundation meeting.

By action of the Trustees the IGIF has awarded \$3,000 to the ASPRS Building Fund. One thousand dollars will be given immediately, and two additional payments of \$1,000 will be made early in 1990 and 1991.

The primary purpose of the IGIF continues to be raising and administering funding to assist ASPRS, ACSM, and other organizations in the surveying

and mapping sciences in establishing and maintaining scholarship and awards programs.

— John R. Ray, President International Geographic Information Foundation



Above, Auto-Carto 9 Opening.

Below, the Icebreaker.

